The Board of Directors fulfill both the role of directors under company law and trustees under charity law and exercise the powers and carry out the duties of PDET.  The Board of Directors is responsible to the Members of PDET as well as the parents, pupils and staff at its academies.  Directors work through their committees and the Central Executive Team with the Academy Governance Committees  to ensure the quality of education and financial management provided at each academy. 

Five committees operate under the PDET Board of Directors:  The Trust Governance Committee, the Business & Finance Committee, the Ethos, Standards and Effectiveness Committee, Audit Committee and Pay & Personnel Committee.

Trust Governance Structure

The Board of Directors is the overall governance body and is accountable for the Trust. Local governing bodies, who are called Academy Governance Committees (AGCs) in our Trust, are committees to which the Directors have chosen to delegate some specific responsibilities.

Executive Directors

Duncan 3 cDuncan Mills – Chief Executive of PDET, Appointed 1 January 2018

Duncan has been PDET’s CEO since January 2018. Previously, he has worked as the Managing Director of another academy trust and as Strategic Planning Manager for Education in Northamptonshire.  He has a background in schools and education, starting as a teacher, he has experienced all levels of work in schools including the role of Director for an Education Action Zone and Excellence Cluster. He has also worked as an Education Advisor and in Youth and Adult training.

Non Executive Directors:

Margaret HolmanMargaret Holman – Chair (Education), Appointed 24 April 2014 (Re-appointed 24 April 2018)

Margaret was Headteacher of Bishop Stopford School, a Church of England converter academy for 16 years.  During this time, she was a National Leader of Education (and Bishop Stopford was designated a National Support School). She was a member of the first Fellowship Commission of NLEs reporting to the Secretary of State, and she sat on the Secondary Heads Reference Group at the DfE for over 10 years. Margaret is currently a director of the Woodard Corporation and sits on its Education committee. She is also a director of the Woodard Academies Trust, chairing the WAT’s Education committee.

Greg CracknellGreg Cracknell – Vice Chair (Education), Appointed 1 May 2015 (Re-appointed 1 May 2019)

Greg Cracknell is a retired university lecturer specialising in primary education.  He is chair of governors at an infant school within the trust and a member of the Diocesan Board of Education.

saceps LM 030118123629Cathy Armstrong – Business, Appointed 1 May 2015 (Re-appointed 1 May 2019)

Cathy has been running a business in Kettering since 2000 and has a proven track record in facilities and administration management.  She has been a Chair of Governors at St Andrew’s C of E Primary, Kettering since 2013 and as such was closely involved in the smooth conversion of the first school to join PDET in May 2014.

Andrew Weatherill – Finance, Appointed 1 March 2016

Andrew works for himself as a practising Chartered Accountant and consulting forensic accountant.  Previously Andrew worked in senior Finance related roles for a number of large international groups, including XPO Logistics, Budget Insurance, National Grid, Barclays and Anglian Water.  He sits on a number of Boards and Audit Committee - Northampton Partnership Homes (social landlord), the Learning and Work Institute (educational charity), the Association of Member Nominated Trustees (not for profit membership body) and is a pension Trustee of two schemes.  Andrew is the Treasurer of his local church and rugby club and an East Midlands Rugby Referee, having recently hung up his playing boots.  In his spare time he watches Northampton Saints, plays squash and walks his 5 dogs.


Kevin BinleyKevin Binley – Business, Appointed 1 March 2016

Kevin was a company director with a UK based financial management software business.  As director, he was responsible for the quality control and delivery of services to a global customer base.  He has worked in the business management technology sector for over 30 years and has a deep experience in implementing business transformation projects across different sectors. Kevin has been involved in a number of successful business start-ups, management buyouts, acquisitions and mergers.

Gordon Temple

Dr Gordon Temple – Business, Appointed 26 March 2018

Gordon served for sixteen years as chief executive of Torch Trust, a Christian charity working nationally and internationally with people with sight loss.  A chartered engineer, Gordon’s early career was in research and development, later becoming managing director of two technology businesses, both operating internationally.  He has served as a foundation governor for his village school for eight years, three as chair of governors.  During this period the school converted to an academy as part of PDET.

Peter CantleyPeter Cantley – Education, Appointed 15 March 2018

Peter is the Diocesan Director of Education for Peterborough Diocese.

Natalie HowesNatalie Howes - Governance, Appointed 26 September 2019

Natalie is a director of a successful consultancy company providing business transformation services including business strategy, change leadership, organisational culture, programme and project deliverance for both private and public sector clients. Natalie has a BSc (Honours) Radiography (Radiotherapy), an MA Applied Health Studies (Research) with over 16 years of experience working in NHS hospitals in England, with her last post being Consultant Therapy Radiographer in oncology. She currently serves as a Chair of Governors and Vice Chair of Governors in two PDET schools. Natalie also leads weekly pre-school worship in her local church and is a lead Parish Safeguarding Officer.

A ScarboroughAndrew Scarborough - Appointed 26 September 2019

Andrew Scarborough is a Justice of the Peace on the Northamptonshire Bench and a long-standing member of the Borough Council of Wellingborough. After many years working as a senior manager in the Post Office he moved into non-executive roles in 2000 serving for eight years as Chairman of Northamptonshire Healthcare NHS Trust and for nine years on the Board of Northampton University, the last four as Chairman. He was also a member of the Board of the East Midlands Development Agency from 2000 to 2004 and continues to sit on the North Northamptonshire Joint Planning Committee. Andrew is a school governor at Rowan Gate Primary in Wellingborough where he has just finished a seven year stint as Chairman. Outside of work and his voluntary activities Andrew is a season ticket holder at Northampton Saints, a keen follower of horseracing and an avid birdwatcher.

A ScarboroughJan Martin – Appointed 18 December 2019

Jan was Head of Inclusion and Head of School Improvement for Northamptonshire for 7 years.  She has been an Ofsted inspector for many years and specialises in SEND.  She has been an independent school improvement and SEND consultant since 2008, working in Hong Kong and London and the home counties with special and mainstream schools.  She is a school improvement specialist for the Brent School Partnership.   

Anup SodhiAnup Sodhi – Appointed 8 April 2020

Anup is an Audit Partner at Ernst & Young with experience of working with a range of businesses from large global to local entrepreneurial. Anup is the Office Managing Partner for the Luton office, responsible for over 200 people. Anup has previously been a school governor of a Prep School.